Media Access Workshop 2019

Over 100 invited community guests attend

Keep the conversation going..

Contact information for panelists included below

May 20, 2019

On Saturday, May 18, 2019, the Philadelphia Association of Black Journalists (PABJ) gathered with over 100 invited community members at the West Philadelphia High School for our annual Media Access Workshop.

 

For the greater part of twenty years, it has become a chapter tradition for our member journalists and public relations professionals to meet with advocates, community leaders, and small business owners to provide access, tips, and direct newsroom connections to increase their ability and reach to share their stories across mainstream media.

 

“Service on this day is one of our highest callings as a member of PABJ.,” said President Manny Smith. “Our members know that this day is about connecting our community with the reporters and newsroom decision-makers who can ensure that their stories are not only told but shared with the care, compassion, and context they deserve”

 

We encourage all of the day’s participants to follow and stay in touch with the reporters, editors, producers and public relations professionals who presented. Contact information is included below:

  • TV/Radio/Print Panel

Manuel McDonnell Smith, Assignment Editor, NBC 10, manuel.smith@nbcuni.com

Jenice Armstrong, Columnist, The Philadelphia Inquirer, armstrj@phillynews.com

Eric Hughes, Assignment Editor, 6 ABC Action News, eric.hughes@abc.com

Ernest Owens, Writer-At-Large, Philadelphia Magazine, mr.ernestowens@gmail.com

Solomon Jones, Host/Columnist, 900AM/96.1 FMWURD, info@solomonjones.com

Berlinda Garnett, Producer, FOX 29 Good Day Philadelphia, berlinda.garnett@foxtv.com

 

  • Using Social Media Workshop

Paris Nicole, Midday Personality 103.9 Boom Philly, pbranch@radio-one.com

Antoinette MinorSocial Media Coach & Content Creator, antoinettekminor@gmail.com

Rashaad Lambert, CEO, For The Culture, Info@sportymarketing.com

Christina Fonseca, Public Relations Professional

Arielle Donce, Senior Digital Planning and  Strategy Lead, BET

 

  • PR 101 Workshop

Haniyyah Sharpe-Brown, Director of Advocacy and External Engagement The School District of Philadelphia, hsharpe@philasd.org

Afea Tucker, Communications Consultant, poshinkmedia@gmail.com

Megan R. Smith, Principal Brownstone PR, megan@brownstonepr.com

Sharyn Flanagan, Editor, Philadelphia Tribune, sharyn4pabj@gmail.com

 

  • Community & Diversity Panel

Darryl C Murphy, Reporter, WHYY News, dmurphy@whyy.org

Nathaniel Lee, Freelance Writer & Reporter, natelee1008@live.com

Aliyah Khabir, Owner AZK Communications, Aliya@azkcomm.com

 

  • Executive Producers & Leadership Panel

Jos Duncan, Program Director, WURD, jduncan@wurdradio.com

Loraine Ballard Morrill, Director of News & Community Affairs, iHeartMedia, loraineMorrill@iheartmedia.com

Donnell Jackson, Executive Producer, Fox 29, donnell.jackson@foxtv.com

Richard Washington III, Executive Producer, NBC 10, richard.washingtoniii@nbcuni.com

Kristina Hammerschmidt, News Director, KYW Newsradio, kristina.hammerschmidt@entercom.com

Recent Articles

Headline