Join us for an amazing evening on Saturday, Nov. 2 for the 2019 Philadelphia Association of Black Journalists (PABJ) Awards & Scholarship Gala.


Buy your tickets here


Support PABJ by exploring our ad book rates or sponsorship options.


As a part of this annual tradition, PABJ will recognize honorees for exemplary reporting, media management and dedicated community service performed while maintaining a commitment to diverse & inclusive employment and coverage, as well as community empowerment. PABJ will also present scholarships to local high school and college journalism students during the ceremony.

The Awards & Scholarship Gala will be held at the WHYY Studios, 150 N. Sixth Street, Philadelphia (between Race & Arch Streets). The gala begins at 5:15 p.m. with a dinner reception immediately followed by the awards ceremony at 6:30.

This year’s PABJ honorees include

  • Mensah M. Dean – Journalist of the Year, Print

  • Cherri Gregg – Journalist of the Year, Broadcast/Online

  • Eric Nzeribe – Trailblazer Award

  • Yvette Ousley – Impact Award

  • Aliya Z. Khabir – Media Professional Award

  • Michael Burch – Community Service Award

  • Linda Wright Moore – President’s Award

  • Vernon Odom – President’s Award

Early bird tix $70 if purchased by October 27th


Regular tix $75 if purchased between October 28th & October 30th


Student tix $35 (for full-time students with ID)




Support PABJ by becoming a member, or sponsoring a membership. Join PABJ here:

All memberships include:

  • Exclusive members-only newsletter with meeting updates, job openings, events and more
  • Invitation to PABJ-only events
  • Exclusive VIP tickets to various Philadelphia events
  • Access to PABJ’s Slack channel
  • Networking opportunities
  • Media training
  • Financial support for media-related or community-related projects

PARKING: There may be some metered and unmetered parking available on surrounding blocks. Also click this link to use the Philadelphia Parking Authority parking guide and locator: